The Race isn’t the End, it’s the Beginning

Anna Costume

Anna Costume

Over the last few weeks, I’ve covered many aspects about preparing to run a race in costume. This isn’t something everyone at any race, even a runDisney one, does. For me, however, I find costuming lets me build up my excitement over the time leading up to the races when training is getting longer and doubt in my ability starts to seep its way into my thoughts. Plus, I gain confidence wearing my own creations. Being able to successfully make a costume adds to the accomplishment I feel surrounding the event.

In the end, though, it is still about the race. All of your planning and training has been for that one day. You put your body and mind on the line, trusting in your training and confidence to see you through. That is probably the hardest part of any race, especially for your first one. Just remember, getting to the finish line is 90% of the challenge. You put in the hours training beforehand so you could succeed when the time came so stop and enjoy the sights and sounds of the event.

DL finish

Disneyland Half

Race day is a crazy time, but also the most exciting experience. I’ve put together a Storify story to help show the whirlwind that is competing in a runDisney event: runDisney: Fantasy to Magical Reality.

Own your costume and celebrate your accomplishments. Everyone runs their own race and only you can make it your own magical experience. After all the time and effort you put into preparing for it, cherish the magical memories you created. They are the keepsakes that will matter in the end.

Every race has challenges and it’s the determination that all racers have in common that gets us through. We don’t give up in the face of adversity. As John Bingham says “The miracle isn’t that I finished. The miracle is that I had the courage to start.” You had the courage to challenge yourself, whether this was your first race or one of many, and those accomplishments are worthy of praise. I’m a firm believer in wearing your medal around the parks after a race. I do it not to “show off” but to remind myself to be confident in my accomplishments. I may not be fast, but every race is different and the obstacles unique. Finishing reminds me that I can do what I set out to do and only I can stand in my way. Now it’s time for you to step out of your own way and let your courage guide you to the finish line. You won’t regret it!

medals

Dopey Challenge (48.6 miles) Medals

Leave a comment